2% donated to charity
Cart 0


Regular price $5.95 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This edition of The Ascension for Orchestra by Olivier Messiaen is the conductor�s edition. This religious work lasts approximately 27 minutes and is divided into four parts.

I. Majesté du Christ demandant sa gloire à son père (Saint John�s Gospel)
II. Alléluïas sereins d�une âme qui désire le ciel (Ascension Mass)
III. Alléluïa sur la trompette, Alléluïa sur la cymbale (Psalm 46)
IV. Prière du Christ montant vers son père (Saint John�s Gospel)

This piece also exists for Solo Organ.

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992) was a French organist and composer passionate about Ornithology and one of the most important composers of his century. Inspired by Japanese music, he had a very special way of composing and his work can be identified by its complexity, its diatonic aspect, its harmony with limited transposition, its colour and its additive rhythms. He composed many works related to ornithology and birdsong, including the 'Bird Catalogue' in 7 volumes and the 'Treatise on rhythm, colour and ornithology' in 7 volumes.

Share this Product

Item is added to cart