2% donated to charity
Cart 0
Intermezzo and Scherzo

Intermezzo and Scherzo

Regular price $24.95 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.
All cellists are familiar with Debussy's sonata, which he composed three years before his death in 1915. The present edition includes his lesser known Intermezzo and Scherzo for cello and piano. Both were composed in 1882, when Debussy was 20 years old.

“Thanks to Solow, and his photocopy of Piatigorsky's autograph, cellists now have a opportunity to learn this piece...The Scherzo may have originally been titled Nocturne and Scherzo, or may have been part of a larger work, but it is only in one movement. It is marked Allegretto and is full of the Mazurka rhythm. Both are delightful short pieces worth attention.”--American String Teacher

“In this new urtext edition, the Intermezzo, previously unpublished, is full of bravado, with a fortissimo marcato theme in the cello and leaping chords in the piano that give way to a bubblign middle section before returning to the initial theme, with much of the cello work taking place on the A string. The Scherzo is charming, hints at the impressionist composer Debussy would become...Either of these brief works would make a lovely concert opener or encore.”--Strings magazine

Share this Product

Item is added to cart