2% donated to charity
Cart 0
Legends Op. 59 Composer: Antonin Dvorák

Legends Op. 59 Composer: Antonin Dvorák

Regular price $24.95 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition 
Composer: Antonin Dvorák 
Editor: Wolfgang Eggerking 

Following the great success of the Slavonic Dances op. 46, the publisher Simrock was extremely happy when Dvorak presented him with the prospect of a new cycle for piano, four hands, the “Legends,” in October 1880. Barely a year was to pass before the new work was published. Shortly before this, Dvorak and Simrock had travelled to Karlsbad with the proofs, where the Viennese music critic Eduard Hanslick was taking the waters. They played through the work together and proofread it. Hanslick was delighted and even became the dedicatee of these ten charming pieces. Later he wrote in a review of the Legends that one felt a “sense of pleasure that feels doubly good in our pessimistic times.”

Share this Product

Item is added to cart