2% donated to musicians' charities
Cart 0


Regular price $20.69 Sale price $22.99 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Johanna Senfter studied music at the Conservatoire in Frankfurt and then in 1908/9 with Max Reger at the Leipzig Conservatoire. Her late Romantic music draws inspiration from the polyphonic structure of Reger and Bach, as well as from the complex use of sounds and motifs in the music of J. Brahms, which did not leave her in an easy position in the context of twentieth Century modernism. Growing interest in the work of female composers has also led to a rediscovery of J. Senfter in recent years. Her extensive work includes piano music, orchestral works and chamber music, including the Piece for flute, clarinet (in A), two bassoons and four horns, first performed in Karlsruhe in 1934.

Share this Product